Kinds Of Deer

There are various kinds of deer, and you can find them in almost all continents of the world, except Australia and Antarctica. Basically, there are two different species of deer: Those in the Cervinae subfamily and those in the Capreolinae subfamily. This article will try to explain some of the popular kinds of deer and present others in a list form according to the family they belong.

White-tailed Deer
This type of deer is named due to its white colored tail. They are found in the U.S. and generally weigh between 120 to 250 lbs. During winter, it coat becomes grayish brown and changes back to deep brown during the summer.

This is the tallest and largest of all kinds of deer. They are normally found in regions with cool temperature, mostly in the U.S., Europe, and Northern Asia. The adult male weighs between 1000 to 1800 lbs. This weight does not in any way prevent them from swimming, as they are capable of swimming at a distance than span several miles.
Mule Deer
The Mule deer is home to the U.S. and South American deserts. It derives its name because of its large ear that resembles a mule. It has a grayish brown coat, large ears, forked antler, and black-tipped tail. These features differentiate it from other kinds of deer.

Among all kinds of deer, the reindeer (also called caribou) is the only specie where both sexes grow antlers. Their thick woolly fur enables them withstand very cold weather. However, their ability to trek more than 3000 miles during their yearly relocation to the arctic makes them special species among land animals.
Barking Deer
Equally known as Indian Muntjac, they are widely found in Southeast Asia. They are omnivorous animals feed mostly on shoots, grass, and bird eggs. They got their name as a result of their barking nature anytime they sense danger.

Fallow Deer
Found in the United Kingdom and across central Europe, these kinds of deer prefer open grassland grazing. They have brown coats but transforms into a darker shade during winter. There are four species of these kinds of deer, but the most common ones are leucistic, melanistic, and menil variant.

Below is a list of other kinds of deer

Subfamily Cervinae
* Swamp Deer/ Barasingha
* Black Muntjac
* Bornean Yellow Muntjac
* Chinese Muntjac
* European Red Deer
* Giant Muntjac
* Gongshan Muntjac
* Indian Muntjac
* Leaf Muntjac
* Pu Hoat Muntjac
* Roosevelt’s Muntjac
* Sika Deer
* Sumatran Muntjac
* Thamin Deer
* Truong Son Muntjac
* Wapiti or Elk
* White-lipped Deer
* Bactrian Deer
* Bawean Deer
* Calamian Deer
* Chital (Axis axis)
* Corsican Red Deer
* Fallow Deer
* Hog Deer
* Kashmir Stag
* Pere David’s Deer
* Persian Fallow Deer
* Visayan Spotted Deer or Philippine dear
* Philippine Brown or Philippine Sambar Deer
* Sambar
* Rusa or Sunda Sambar
* Tufted Deer
* Yarkand Deer

Subfamily Capreolinae

* Chinese Water Deer
* Dwarf Brocket
* Merida Brocket
* Moose or Elk in Europe
* Mule Deer
* Pampas Deer
* Red Brocket
* Roe Deer
* White-tailed Deer
* Gray Brocket
* Pygmy Brocket or Brazilian Dwarf Brocket deer
* Yucatan Brown Brocket
* Little Red Brocket
* Marsh Deer
* Peruvian Guemal or Taruca deer
* North Andean Deer
* South Andean or Chilean Huemul deer
* Reindeer or Caribou deer
* Siberian Roe Deer